National Council of India

The Society was first introduced in India by the French Missionaries at Pondicherry during the Year 1852-53 as a non-aggregated Conference. The Society was officially started in India in 1863 when some conferences in Bombay were aggregated and the Bombay Particular Council was instituted. Thenonwards the Society continued to grow in India.On 09.11.1953 the Superior Council of India was established and instituted with the Council General International. The Superior Council of India was renamed as National Council of India on 06.08.1973. The National Council of India has its Headquarters in Mumbai and the present President’s secretariat is at Thodupuzha, Kerala with the election of Bro. Johnson Varghese as the 13th National President of India with effect from 28th February 2015.

The National Council of India is registered under the Income Tax Act 1961with exemption under Sec 80G, FCRA under the ministry of HomeAffairs and Societies Regn. Act and Bombay Public Trust Act 1950.

List of National Presidents with their Tenure:

Since the establishment of the National Council, the following Vincentians have been the National Presidents:

S. No Name of the National Presidents Period
From To
1 Bro. J. B. Fernandes 1953 1961
2 Bro. J.I.A. Pinto 1961 1962
3 Bro. Alfred D’Souza 1962 1968
4 Bro. Bennet D’ Souza 1968 1974
5 Bro. Frank Silveira 1974 1982
6 Bro. Abraham Kuriaype 1982 1987
7 Bro. Bennet D’Souza (Incharge) 1987 1988
8 Bro. P. G Jacob 1988 1993
9 Bro. G. Thangaraju Nadar 1993 1998
10 Bro. P. V. Alexander 1998 2003
11 Bro. T. Joseph Pandiyan 2003 2009
12 Bro. V. M. J. Balasamy 2009 2015
13 Bro. Dr. Johnson Varghese 2015 Till Date

List of Member of National Council Of India: